My Love Affair

“There can be infinite uses of the computer and of new age technology, but if the teachers themselves are not able to bring it into the classroom and make it work, then it fails.”

Nancy Kassebaum

I have been using technology more than ever this year.  If you have been reading the blog you will know that many strategies I have employed within my reading room.  I haven’t used them to their fullest potential, but it is a strong start.  Most likely, I have taken on more than I can chew.

But I am beginning to feel confident.  The students are seeing me attempt to use these sites and they are viewing someone who is learning.  At times I am frustrated, but it does not stop me and that is a lesson for them.  They see my interest and motivation which turns into their excitement.  They can’t wait to post on the student blog as well as comment on the other stories.

Using Evernote has also produced a desire to record themselves and improve their fluency.  One second grade boy mentioned he isn’t fluent, but he is trying and looking forward to assessing himself in order to learn.

I often thought of technology as a source for research and creating documents, but now I see how effective it is in regards to learning and developing a self-awareness as well as self-confidence.  I am now willing to take more risks and expose myself  in order to learn and that is exactly what the students need to do.  And isn’t that what love is about, taking risks.

7 thoughts on “My Love Affair

  1. mrssurridge

    I have been blessed to work in a one-to-one laptop program for about ten years now and I don’t know how I could go back. I feel like I’m more efficient and my students are more engaged in their learning. I love that they can make presentations of their learning and that I can integrate gaming into some of our lessons. I’m so glad your confidence is growing.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. jet197

    I love this! It reminds me of the power of the students seeing you as a learner too. How empowering for them to be part of a learning process for all from the ground floor, because I am also certain that there will be times when they are much more knowledgeable than we are in technology.

    Like

    Reply
  3. deaththelifestory

    It’s interesting, there’s an assumption that after 30 years you just stop giving new things a go, but it isn’t true. It’s about personality – I love the fact that you are still pushing things forward – because you want the best for the young people that you work with. Great blog. (p.s. I’ve been in arts education since the beginning of time. I’m still pushing it 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

